Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

First Things First

leave a comment »

Total Black: $1013.98
Total Red: $230,649.18

First paycheck from my first real doc review job came through today.  The check I referenced in Pay Day was for contract attorney work, but not document review work.  Unfortunately, I don’t have a whole lot of money to work with, but that’s because we didn’t work a full week last week.  Next Friday’s paycheck should be substantial.  Typically on the morning I got paid, in a sleepy morning stupor (or even sometimes in a half-alert middle-of-the-night disorientation), I’d determine which bills to pay and for how much.  More often than not, my paycheck would be distributed to various creditors within hours of it hitting my bank.  I’m not going to do that today, even though the urge to is nearly overwhelming.  Instead, I’m going to send a little bit to everyone.  Making the minimum payments on even two credit cards or on my cellphone and electricity bills would pretty much wipe out income for the week.  Then I’d be back to Spaghetti-Os.  Yesterday’s stroll down Memory Lane, hand-in-hand with Chef Boyardee, was enough.  Plus I need to keep the bulk of this check for rent, which hasn’t been paid yet. 

I think the best approach for me, going forward, is to set a rule to prioritize my debts and pay the important ones first over others.   In the past, I’d just send as much as possible to credit cards.  So, this means figuring out those debts that take priority, a “first things first” approach.  This week, for example, the electric bill and the cellphone bill leap to the front of that list.  Both have sent turn-off notices.  Yeah, I’m skating that close to the edge.  Kinda funny that I was making ends meet better on unemployment.  It’s just that this transition off unemployment and back into employment, albeit temporary employment, has been rocky.

The first thing that I did with today’s pay, however, was to send $48.25 back to my blog PayPal account to return the money I borrowed.  In Getting Out of the Quicksand I promised that I’d leave donations in that account until I received enough to pay a debt off.  On review, that might be a bit delusional to think that I’d get anywhere near $2,000, for example (my lowest debt), in donations.  But I’ll save those musing for tomorrow.  Now I need to run to the dry cleaners and then head off to the temp job.  I think I can grab Dunkin’ Donuts today.

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

October 2, 2009 at 07:34

Leave a Reply

