Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

The Days of My Life

leave a comment »

Total Black: $3,164.09
Total Red: $230,663.35

I’ve been feeling like my life is a bit of a soap opera.  Kind of fitting to title a blog entry accordingly.

This afternoon, I learned further details about the drunken debacle discussed in A Day Without a Post.  Just as I was leaving my apartment building to file my answer and counterclaims in the rent demand lawsuit brought by my landlord, I saw a neighbor standing on the stoop.  I said hello as I passed him.  Then I could tell that he knew something.  With an all-knowing eye, he asked how I’m doing and if I’m feeling better.  That confirmed what the spotty tape recorder had, in fact, picked up—that my neighbor called the ambulance on me because I was passed out in the hallway near my apartment door.  So close, yet still so far away.  Turns out also that I never did lose my keys.  I smartly placed them in my bag for safe-keeping so that I wouldn’t lose them through the hole in my pants pocket.  I just stupidly left the bar without my bag.  But at last pieces of the puzzle come together.  I thanked him for his help, and as I turned to leave, he held his index finger up to his eye, and shaking it at me, he said, “Now you know better.”  (And I thought, oh God, here it comes.  Another lecture about not drinking too much.)  “Next time, get a bottle and you and your friends drink at home.”  I started laughing out loud and had a big smile on my face.  He’s the first person who got me to laugh about it all.  I think I’m going to buy him a nice bottle of rum to thank him for what he did.  He could have just left me there on the floor like a piece of trash.

In other news, I filed my papers against the landlord today.  I don’t like that now my name will be forever linked with bedbugs, but someone has got to take action against landlords for this problem.  From what I’ve seen, my building treated it like any other rodent problem.  “A spray, spray here; a spray, spray there . . .  that’s how we shoo bedbugs away in the merry ol’ land of bloodsuckaz.”  I didn’t want to have to counterclaim, but after I received that card in the mail from the court, telling me to answer the complaint, I figured it’s best just to air all our grievances at once.  In preparing the papers today, I included a copy of my friends’ blog where they first posted about the bedbugs.  Since their blog is also hosted on wordpress.com, my cites to their blog show up in the comment section.  The landlord, and perhaps even the court, could be go from my court papers to their website and then back to this blog.  My “secret identity” might soon be known, at least by opposing counsel.  There’s nothing I’ve said in these entries that I wouldn’t say in person, but I may have to limit my references to on-going litigation going further.  Anything I say can and will be used against me in a court of law; I’m sure of it.  Perhaps I’ll switch any litigation-related postings to password-protected ones.  That way, anyone interested in reading updates that involve the lawsuit can just email me for the code to get in to read them.  Hmm . . . something to think about.

After filing the papers, I darted uptown to meet with a former law firm colleague.  He’s going to be helping me with the pro bono case that I wrote about in Pro Bono Publico.  We both worked on it while at the firm though now we’ll have to take it on a contingency fee basis.  We were both laid-off.  We are both still laid-off.  And we’re both unemployed again.  Contract attorney positions finished up last week.  I received a call from one temporary staffing agency today, however.  I was in court though and didn’t pick up.  Then I ran uptown and forgot about it.  But I trust there will still be room for me on the team.

Guess that’s it for today.  Total black is down to zero, practically.  All of that is already promised to the landlord.  Total red has stayed the same.  That’s at least better than going up.

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

October 30, 2009 at 22:26

Leave a Reply

