Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Starting the Uphill Climb

with one comment

Total Black: $215.70
Total Red: $231,084.38

I received an email earlier today from the stage manager of the New World Stages about a possible position there.  I mentioned in Moonlighting that I had emailed her.  She said they’re only looking currently for holiday help.  I wrote back with a copy of my resume and mentioned my full availability.  It’s possible that my efforts could lead to two additional jobs.  The theatre gig and the recruiter gig with CHEST, the Hunter College social research position.  That may mean that on a given Thursday, I could end up working 9am – 5:30pm at the contract attorney position, then say 6:30pm to 10:30pm at the theater, and finally 11pm to 2am with the research position.  Wow.  That’ll be a rough pace to maintain.  But I’m certainly not getting out of debt without a struggle.  I’m ok with that, as long as the struggle builds character and is somewhat enjoyable along the way.

Payday will arrive on Thursday.  I really can’t wait.  It’s been nearly three weeks since I got paid.  Unemployment benefits did come through last week and the one before, but $385.00 isn’t much to live on.  And I need to pay my creditors.  I’m tired of the telephone ringing at 8:31 a.m.  Well, one good aspect to it, if my alarm doesn’t go off, I won’t end up sleeping too late.  They’re almost like my personal wake-up call.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the reminder New World Theatre exists. Always forget about them

    Larry

    November 18, 2009 at 07:50


Leave a Reply

