Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

More Shenanigans

with one comment

Total Black: $295.48
Total Red: $231,123.38

Pay came through last night.  In fact, I was still awake around 2 a.m. when it showed up in my account.  I had been slowly siphoning the money in my secondary checking account, money that I had parked there for the COBRA payment to the firm.  By yesterday afternoon the check still hadn’t been cashed, so I transferred the remaining money into my primary checking account to use it buy a few things, like lunch and some groceries.  So last night when I saw that my paycheck had been deposited and the check still hadn’t been cashed, I quickly transferred the $399.22 (covering two months) back into the other checking account to cover it, gave a sigh of relief, and then quietly drifted off to bed.  But of course, this afternoon the check showed up in my account as if it had posted on September 18th, even though I viewed my account at 2 a.m. the next day, September 19th, and the check wasn’t there.  This is the kind of shit I wrote about in What Is This, Sarcasm? that makes my blood boil.  I guess the new day I wrote about in A New Day Has Dawned has limits.  I borrowed the money I had allocated for that check knowing full well I might incur an insufficient funds fee.  And if it had presented a few days earlier, when the entire amount wasn’t in the account, I would have happily paid the $35 fee and been done with it because it would have been my fault.  I’m not proud to have to play these games, but skating this close to the financial edge requires running a few risks.  But it infuriates me when Bank of America rewrites history, when it moulds time to suit its purposes, and allows the check through just when enough money is in the account.  What’s the chance that the check presented conveniently a day before I transferred the exact amount into my account.  No, the check had not presented on September 18th.  And if the bank functions on Pacific time, then the money I transferred would have hit my account in time to cover it anyway.  Tomorrow I’m calling Bank of America and demanding back the $35 fee I paid today.

But there’s also good news.  I got the position with New World Stages.  I don’t know just yet how many shifts I’ll have to cover (wow . . . I haven’t had to describe work that way in a long time) or how long the job will last or even how much I’ll get paid.  Probably minimum wage, or maybe a bit more.  Regardless, it’ll be awesome.  I’ll be paid to take tickets, help theatre-goers, and watch musicals.  No word yet from CHEST about that assignment.  I think it would be a great opportunity and frankly something I need right now.

I also had a temporary attorney staffing agency reach out to me specifically, not just a blanket email to multiple attorneys, about a possible project down the road.  They wanted to know how long the current project I’m on will last and whether I could interview with their client, a law firm, next week.  It’s an odd sort of demand to be in, but it’s better to be in some sort of demand than none, right?  I’m going to use the approaching holiday season as the angle to inquire into the projected length of the current temp project at the firm.  For some reason the other temp attorneys on this project, well at least the other two that I sit with—the fourth and fifth are elsewhere and don’t make themselves known—are apprehensive about asking about the duration of this project.  I guess the thought is that you might send the wrong message if you want to know how long until it ends.  A temp version of “are we there yet?” I suppose.  Their hesitancy rubbed off on me and now none of us know how long we might be on this project.  Moreover, I’m only on week two and it would look odd for me to be asking already.  But if I say that I was thinking about getting a part-time job over the holidays to earn extra money, which is true just not true as it relates to the temp job, then it’ll provide an innocuous angle to ask about the length of the project.  All these silly machinations just for one question and the bottom line is this: if the other project pays an hourly rate less than the current project, then I’m staying put.  Plus this project gives me the flexibility to work these other gigs in the evenings and on weekends.

As far as debt goes, I sent five $50 payments to my credit card accounts: two Visa, one MasterCard, one AmEx, and the line of credit for the furniture I bought last year.  I also sent $100 to SallieMae.  That right there siphoned off much of my paycheck.  Plus the $400 to cover the COBRA payment and that pretty much accounts for this week’s paycheck.  Hopefully those small payments will act like a glass of orange juice to someone nearing diabetic shock and quiet them down until next week’s paycheck arrives and I feed the hungry beats some more.  Fifty dollars isn’t much but it is a start.  And if I can do at least that much weekly, it would mean a minimum payment of two hundred dollars a month on each account, which is more than some cards have asked for.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I suggest you create a budget. List out what the bare-minimum necessities you have on a weekly basis — food, utilities, etc. Then, whatever you make over that amount is your disposable income. Those amounts are what you are can send to creditors or to save. I’d be interested in seeing your budget as a future post. Good luck! Keep up the good fight!

    James

    November 20, 2009 at 09:29


Leave a Reply

