Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Paycheck to Paycheck

with 3 comments

Total Black: $64.64
Total Red: $231,308.15

Tomorrow should be payday.  We get paid on Thursdays normally, but with Thursday being Thanksgiving, paychecks should be processed tomorrow.  If they aren’t, I’ll be spending Thanksgiving alone in New York with my cats because I don’t have the cash, and certainly not the credit, for a bus ticket back to Scranton.  I checked with the temp agency and they said we’d be paid tomorrow, so I suppose I’m exaggerating a bit.  Plus, even if my paycheck doesn’t post by tomorrow morning, I’m sure it will make its way to my account by Thursday morning.  Thankfully, computer automation doesn’t take days off.

One thing I will not do this week is toss all my money at my debts.  I’ve done that too frequently in the past.  Plus I need to cover next month’s rent by December 1st.  This paycheck and next week’s paycheck might just about cover it.  Depends on how much I net this week after taxes.  It’s my first full week on the job.  Last week was only thirty-two hours because I started the project on Tuesday.  And now next week’s check will be less because of the holiday week.  We can only work three days this week because the law firm is closed Thursday and Friday.  I will enjoy the downtime, especially getting out of the city and relaxing at my mother’s house (assuming I get there), but it will hurt having next week’s paycheck cover only three days of work—twenty-four hours.  Somehow I also need to come up with money to pay SallieMae.  I can’t go another three weeks (if the next two weeks’ pay goes to rent) without making a payment.  But stressing about it won’t help.  It’s not like I’m going to sit back and say, “Oh thank God I just spent that last half-hour worrying about making ends meet!”  It certainly doesn’t make you feel better.  And it doesn’t accomplish anything.  I don’t have pay in hand yet so stressing about how to divvy it up hours before it arrives is silly.  I will be living paycheck to paycheck, however, for these next few weeks . . . at least until things stabilize.

In other news, still no word back from the law firm I mentioned in Writer’s Block.  Of course, it’s only been a day.  But they did say they’d contact me by the end of that day because they wanted the new contract attorney to start this Monday.  I also haven’t heard back from CHEST, the Hunter College-affiliated organization that does conducts research into and educates about HIV / AIDS.  It’s odd too because the person I interviewed with said he’d get back to me by Thursday.  It’s now Tuesday.  No reply yet to the email I sent last night, following up.  I won’t be upset if I don’t get either position.  It’s just irritating when people don’t follow through on their word.  It seems people only drag their feet with bad news.  But who knows, eh?  Things happen.  People get busy.  Maybe they’re taking the rest of the week off to mull me over.

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

November 24, 2009 at 23:15

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How the hell can you pay off $231,308.15 in a little over 8 months? Are you playing the lottery? Best of luck to you, but your goal is unrealistic.

    Nando

    November 25, 2009 at 00:27

  2. Agree that with how you’re currently approaching things, your goal is unrealistic. You’d have to earn $231,308 in the next few months — after taxes and all expenses — to dig yourself out, and that’s not going to happen even if you land another big firm job. Time to think outside the box! For example, some time ago you wrote a post about how virtual items for sale will become a billion dollar business (or something along those lines). Get in on that! Figure out how to create things to sell online and go to it. Do some research, figure out a niche crowd that spends a lot of time online, and create something they want to buy/buy into. You could create the hottest gay men’s virtual clothing line or online dance club, for example. Or the coolest virtual pet accessories. Outside the box!

    Not Mike

    November 26, 2009 at 18:11

  3. Hmm . . . definitely something to think about. The idea of creating some sort of iPhone app did cross my mind. Problem is, I have the ideas but not the training. But you’ve definitely giving me something to think about.

    Laid-off Lawyer

    November 26, 2009 at 23:19


Leave a Reply

