Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

My Christmas List

with 2 comments

Total Black: $2,078.05
Total Red: $230,820.17

Today is St. Nicholas Day. In the Byzantine Catholic rite, it’s a very special day. St. Nicholas is the patron saint of all Byzantine Catholic churches. As children my father would dress up as St. Nicholas for the entire elementary school. He’d also dress up as Santa Clause and the Easter Bunny. It was pretty great having St. Nicholas as your father, so to speak. It’s a role he fit well and fulfilled his entire life. After mass was over, St. Nicholas would walk the halls of the school as all the school children sang “O kto, kto Nikolaja l’ubit,” translated from Church Slavonic means, “O Who Loves Nicholas the Saintly.” St. Nicholas would pass out candy and other treats to the children. Then we’d all assemble in the gymnasium for a special lunch.

In the mornings on St. Nicholas Day, before we left for school, my sister and I would rush downstairs to see what St. Nick had left for us in our stockings. Most traditions have people putting their shoes out on the night of December 5th. We hung our stockings. Not sure why. But it certainly allowed for many more gifts to fit than would in a shoe. Later at school all the children would play with the toys and talk about the gifts St. Nicholas had left them. Until we were older, my sister and I always had to ensure we didn’t let our cousin know that St. Nicholas had visited us. My mother was raised Roman Catholic but she married a Byzantine Catholic man, so his church became the family’s church. My mother’s sister remained Roman Catholic, however, so her son was as well. Roman Catholics don’t celebrate St. Nicholas Day in my area (if they do at all anywhere) and so St. Nicholas didn’t visit their children. He only visited the Byzantine Catholic children. Santa Claus visited us as well on December 24th, but so did St. Nicholas on December 5th. Great childhood memories. We received gifts twice in December.

Till today the Christmas holiday doesn’t really begin for me until December 6th arrives. So, since today is St. Nicholas Day I thought I’d use today’s entry to post my Christmas list. If can’t always get what you want, so the song goes, but you certainly won’t get it if you don’t ask for it, right? Hope you’re reading, St. Nick! For Christmas this year I want:

  1. Sufficient income to eliminate my debt by 8/9/10, if not earlier.
  2. Interesting, exciting, and fulfilling gigs to occupy the roughly two-hundred-fifty odd days remaining on this project.
  3. Good health, happiness, and success for myself and loved ones throughout the next and the remainder of this year.
  4. Continued inspiration for this blog, so much so that it opens doors to other opportunities.
  5. A successful, prestigious, well-paying attorney position.
  6. Financial and legal success for my pro bono client’s case and my case against the landlord.
  7. A vehicle to help others in situations similar to my own.
  8. A 2010 steel-blue Jaguar.
  9. An amazing three-week-long vacation in 2010, preferably one that incorporates a boot-camp exercise package.
  10. The person I will spend the rest of my days with as my spouse and life-partner.

Not too much to ask for, right? I figured if it’s a wish list, I should be a bit materialistic there at the end and ask for something tangible. Most everything else can’t be put into a stocking. But in all seriousness, St. Nicholas is known as the wonder-worker because of the amazing miracles he’s reported to have performed. He became the modern-day Santa Claus partly because of his fame as a gift-giver.

So, here’s hoping that St. Nicholas is good to us all this year. We all could use a few miracles.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi LoL-

    I grew up in Germany and we always put out our boots before going to bed on the 5th, and on the 6th there would be candy and little toys (unless you were a rotten kid, in which case you got sticks and coal).

    For what it’s worth- I’m happy to hear how positive you sound! 🙂

    -K.

    Kathleen

    December 6, 2009 at 23:37

  2. I hope someone will correct the grammar, but more literally:

    O kto kto Nikolaja l’ubit …
    Tomu svjatyj Nikolaj,
    Na vsjakij chas pomahaj…

    O who love Nicholas…
    Them, Saint Nicholas
    always helps …

    And one of the most famous stories of that help, during his lifetime, was in paying off debts.

    djs

    December 8, 2009 at 22:23


Leave a Reply

