Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Back on the Chain Gang

with 4 comments

Total Black: $539.47
Total Red: $230,761.09

Starting a new temporary attorney assignment tomorrow. The hours could be long and the pay is ok.  A dollar less than the last temp assignment I had.  But with more hours I shouldn’t really notice the difference.

This afternoon a former colleague from the large law firm I worked for called me with an assignment, so to speak.  A client of her new firm needs some legal research done and she thought of me.  At first I said no because the new project is starting tomorrow.  Then as I thought about it, I quickly realized I could fit it in during the evenings and over the weekend.  Plus it’s only research, so it would be fun to scour the law again to find material to back up a claim.  Of course since it’s only research we figured I’d charge roughly fifty dollars an hour.  We’re assuming it would only take about ten hours, so that’s five hundred dollars waiting to be earned.  It’s a real estate matter relating to covenants and how long they may endure.  Thank God Google came up with Google Scholar.  Down with the tyranny of Westlaw and Lexis.  Access to the law should be free for everyone!

Still no check from the colleague.  He said he had it sent though the company’s bank.  It’s been two weeks now.  Gettin’ nervous again.

Today’s post is short.  I’m working on my response to the landlord’s shenanigans.   I’ll have to have the law firm colleague who’s helping me with the pro bono client make my court appearance for me tomorrow since I’ll be in training at the firm for this new temp assignment.  I was willing to just go away quietly with a court order requiring building-wide extermination.  Now I’ll not take nothing less than reimbursement for my time and labor fixing this place up to wall myself off from bedbugs, plus a plan of extermination, and a rent abatement.  The landlord’s attorney got a letter from the landlord’s exterminator saying they conducted an inspection of my apartment and found no evidence of bedbugs.  Thus, my case should be dismissed.  That’s patently false.  That company isn’t the same exterminator, as noted in Continues to Bug Me, that we agreed to in court who would do the inspection.  The landlord’s attorney got his exterminator to write a letter saying something happened that didn’t.  I was tempted to report the attorney to bar council.  It’s a blatant misrepresentation.  A lie, frankly.  But for now it’s back to work.  I’m not letting that shadiness slip by.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You know you have an ethical duty to report the breaches of others, right? In NY, you need to re-read EC 1-4 and convince yourself that this behavior doesn’t raise a “substantial question as to the other lawyer’s honesty, trustworthiness or fitness in other respects as a lawyer.” You can’t basically accuse him of suborning perjury, or perjuring himself, then not report him.

    Anonymous

    January 6, 2010 at 15:46

  2. Yeah, I got into that debate last night with a friend of mine. But what’s my proof. He’d come back around and point to that letter and say that the exterminator just said he “inspected” the place. A look around could be an “inspection.” That inspection happened a month earlier so he’s not being upfront. He’d just say he made a mistake. I think the threshold is much higher. At the least he’s playing fast and loose with the facts.

    Laid-off Lawyer

    January 6, 2010 at 15:50

  3. Speaking of your pro bono cilent, what’s going on with that case?

    Anony

    January 6, 2010 at 20:23

  4. I think that it’s at least worth asking your bar association for advice on the subject.

    PS – congrats on the new gig and I don’t know about rates in New York, but $50/hour for research is on the low side here in Chicago.

    Jim in Chicago

    January 7, 2010 at 14:07


Leave a Reply

