Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

No More Piggy

with 4 comments

Total Black: $121.21
Total Red: $229,479.20

I’m late posting today because I had to leave fairly early this morning to ensure I got in sufficient hours at the contract attorney position today.  I worked from 8:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. for a total of twelve hours.  I took off ninety minutes during the afternoon when I stepped out for my final doctor’s office visit.  Today was the last day for the medical experiment.  No more guinea pig here!

For the past 136 days, before going to bed each night, I’ve taken between one and two pills and jotted down the time that I took them.  Many nights I forgot.  I’m not a nighttime pill-taker, I’ve discovered.  Over four months ago, in Where’s the Line?, I blogged about concerns I had over possible side-effects.  And although, as noted in Good News & Bad, the start of the medical experiment had me feeling like I was tripping on acid, it ended on a completely different note.  I might even miss the visits with the women at the doctor’s office.  But thankfully I can say I didn’t experience any side-effects.  In fact, I think the medication actually helped.  Of course, I don’t know just yet whether I was receiving a placebo or the actual test drug, but something worked that’s for sure.  The only drawback: they didn’t have my money available.  I just laughed it off.  Lil’ laugh of the absurd does wonders.  It’s fine; they’ll mail the check on Thursday.  I should have it by the weekend.  But it is funny considering I had already allocated that money, at least in my mind, to covering my COBRA payment, which is past due.

Short post.  Heading to bed so I can get back out there tomorrow and put in thirteen hours.  That’s the cap the firm has set for us.  If I could put in thirteen hours a day, that would equal about sixty-two hours a week, netting a paycheck of about $2,500 per week.  In two weeks, that’s a credit card and a student loan gone and I’d be right on track with my Resolutions For the New Year.  The theatre gig might monkey with my availability a bit this week, but that’s ok.  I need to keep those plates spinning.  When the prior temp job caved just before Christmas, all I had to keep me afloat was the theatre gig.  So I owe them much and won’t do anything to jeopardize it.

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

January 18, 2010 at 23:56

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Let me get this straight…you’re this far in the hole and you’ll work a lower paying job over your higher paying job? You really do make stunningly poor financial decisions.

    anonymous

    January 19, 2010 at 09:02

  2. Guess you’ve never worked for a temp agency before. No loyalties there. If the job is over, you’re out. So yes, if I loose one hour at the temp job at $34 to to work a shift at the theatre for $25, I’ll do it. The theatre brought me back on. The temp agencies did not. We’re just warm bodies to them.

    Guess loyalty to a work place is foreign to your ilk. But then again you’re probably the type who thinks employees . . . er . . . labor costs should be the first reduction, not the last.

    Laid-off Lawyer

    January 19, 2010 at 09:08

  3. That’s why you work as many hours of the higher paying job as you possibly can — because if won’t last forever. Speaking of, what are you doing to find stable, long-term employment? Anything at all? (And yeah, I realize it’s a bad market out there, but that doesn’t excuse not looking at all.)

    anonymous

    January 19, 2010 at 14:03

  4. Wouldn’t the debt go up every day due to interest? I’m not an economist or a scientist, but I think it would.

    Not an economist

    January 19, 2010 at 23:25


Leave a Reply

