Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Business Travel

with 2 comments

Total Black: $681.94
Total Red: $228,429.83

I didn’t sleep last night.  I was up late posting yesterday’s entry as well as packing and getting the apartment ready for this short trip away.  And I was excited about coming to Orlando.  I sprang for a taxi to the airport this morning at 4am because I didn’t want to risk missing my flight if I did take the subway at that late hour.  I ended up missing it anyway because of JetBlue’s current reservations fiasco.  I stood in line for over ninety minutes.  That was my first and last time using JetBlue.  But once I made it past security and to the ticked area, I had an odd flashback to a few years ago when I traveled fairly frequently for business.  I miss it.

Since I hadn’t slept, and now had about two hours to wait until my stand-by flight left, I opted to get breakfast at a open-counter spot in the terminal and sit back and watch the show.  I always loved traveling for business.  And I forgot how much actually until today.  There’s the crisp stacks of newspapers and silky smooth magazine covers all on display at brightly colored news kiosks like Hudson News or CNBC’s kiosk.  Everywhere televisions blast CNN.  Cubbyholes of books are line up on shelves in nook-like bookstores sandwiched between an electronics shop and a clothing store.  Or else the bookstore is one large and looming broad display at the junction of two separate hallways of traveling tourists.  Oftentimes some loud business man is walking by or siting next to you.  Family Guy hit the nail on the head with the “acting like an American at the airport test” in the Padre de Familia episode in Season 6.

As I sat at the counter, sipping morning coffee, I started to feel a bit of rising worry about using my credit cards again.  I had just brought one down to zero and there I was charging it up again: for the taxi ride, for breakfast.  I’m keeping cash on the side because I’m unsure how much I might need in Orlando, perhaps for taxis, etc.  Being caught without cash is not good.  But after feeling a bit of guilt, I relaxed a bit.  Getting the card down from $100 is a lot easier than from $1,000.

Through a sleepy, foggy brain, I started to realize that this stint of being in debt and struggling to make ends meet will be short-lived.  Total black is down a bit because money for a credit card was pulled.  $500 of what’s available has already been allocated to the landlord and I’ll be sending more next week.  Total red is down.  And only $1,000 away from where I started back in my first true daily post, Just Your Average Joe.  I’ve needed to get out of New York.  The mania and the panic there was a bit too palpable.  I’ve been feeling to frenzied.  This trip is exactly what I need to refresh and refocus.  Ah . . . Orlando.  Who knew all you had to offer.  The pic above is a shot of where I’m staying.  I’m going to go running tomorrow morning and then lounge by the pool in the evening.  Unlike most of these meetings that I’ve been two—we have three a year—I’m not spending tomorrow night getting drunk with my fellow board members.  Instead, me and a book can lounge by the pool.

Some people don’t like to travel for business.  They hate it actually.  I loved it.  And I remembered that today.  So I’m sure I’ll gravitate to another job that will involve travel.  Or if not, I’ll continue to be involved with companies and organizations that require me to to travel.  Today was a good day and I’m happy I’ve taken this trip.

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

February 5, 2010 at 23:19

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hey Brian,
    Ignore the haters, I think you’re doing a great job! It’s tough out there.

    Matt

    February 6, 2010 at 09:51

  2. Yes, getting out of New York is great. I was away for a week and I realized how childish and silly it all was – scrounging for mealy scraps of doc review, and spending all my money on a dark closet I call home. People in other cities actually had proper jobs, families, large spaces and sun. New York is so competitive it will suck the life out of you – even to be a janitor here requires fighting each and every day with a thousand [nasty and ghetto] people waiting to take your job.

    Prince Michael III

    February 6, 2010 at 15:29


Leave a Reply

