Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

A Whole New World

with 4 comments

Total Black: $681.94
Total Red: $228,415.87

I couldn’t help the Disney dig.  Board meetings all day long.  I also ended up spending more than I expected because of the layout of Orlando.  I had thought I’d be able to walk from my hotel to the area where our meetings are being held.  I didn’t know that the Disney area outside Orlando is a magical land where sidewalks don’t really exist and taxis and shuttles must cart you everywhere.  But despite the added cost, the trip has been worth it.  Both from a mental health perspective and a career one.

Today I was elected treasurer of a million-dollar non-profit organization.  It’s a one-year term.  While the position isn’t paid, it’s still an excellent resume boost and an experience that I can leverage into other arenas.  Clearly I’ll be soon become intimately familiar with the ins and outs of generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) as well as the world of non-profit governance in general.  I plan on jumping head-first into the role and will start getting up to speed quickly on the particulars.  Thankfully though the prior treasurer will be staying in the position of president-elect so I’ll have someone to turn to for guidance if, and as, needed.

I know that this opportunity has come to me now for a reason.  No one else expressed interest in the running for the office and I wasn’t about to let the organization go without someone in this vital role.  So, as always, I stepped up to the plate and volunteered.  But there’s no way that one can manage the budget of a million-dollar organization without spill-over into your own personal life.  I suppose a personal budget isn’t far off then.  I am nervous, but also excited, about the position and I do feel like I’m on a magic carpet ride.

(Yeah, threw in another Disney dig for good measure.)

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Here’s hoping the spillover goes from good governance of the organization to your disastrous personal finances, and not the other way around.

    Anonymous

    February 7, 2010 at 00:56

  2. You will be happy to know many banks are not charging overlimit fees anymore – thought you would be delighted to know that.

    Anon

    February 7, 2010 at 11:45

  3. That is a whole new world! 😉

    Actually, Bank of America charges OTL fees now only if the total fees collectively exceed some daily amount, I think $15 dollars?, or only if an individual transaction exceeds your limit by $5 or more.

    It’s a start, eh?

    Laid-off Lawyer

    February 7, 2010 at 12:24

  4. Yes, as the prince of overlimit fees, I knew you would happy to hear that.

    All you really need to avoid the fees is a pencil and paper. No smart phone, no excel spreadsheet, nothing. Write down your balance and each and every transaction and go by what you have on PAPER and not what they tell you online or on the phone. It takes a few days for them to update. That is why we all get screwed, That is how I got screwed many times. It’s literally like taking $40 and sticking it in the toilet. I could have eaten for a week for $40 or saved that money towards my Botox injections. Yep, pencil and paper – that is it. After I paid $80 for two transactions for less than $2.00 each I vowed it would never happen again.

    Anon

    February 7, 2010 at 15:08


Leave a Reply

