Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Something’s Gotta Give

with 2 comments

Total Black: $389.73
Total Red: $229,121.20

I woke four times this morning: at 6am, 8:30am, 9am, and then finally at 10:40am.  I had intended to get up early to put some hours in at the contract attorney position before working at the theatre gig at 11am.  My body just wouldn’t let me get out of bed.

Probably because of restless sleep, I was tempted to post this morning and use it as a venue to bitch and rant and rave and just yell and scream at the world.  Digital hair-pulling and teeth gnashing and cloak rending.  I wanted to scream about the hours I’m working and the little that’s coming in.  To bitch about having had to pester the Colleague and lose his friendship just to get something from him, and not having gotten anything yet except anger.  To punch electronic walls that these bills don’t stop; that the IRS just had to come after me for another two thousand dollars, as if I’ve not paid enough already; because the landlord is after me again for rent—couldn’t wait another week or two!  To pound digital desks because these telephone calls don’t cease: now it’s Wells Fargo banging down my telephonic door.

I worked sixty-one hours at the contract attorney position last week and pulled in just over $1,400—after taxes.  Over $500 was snatched up.  And that’s being at ten withholdings.  That amount right there is a student loan payment.  I tried to increase the number of withholdings I claimed, but the temp agency won’t let me.  Not sure they have a say in it really, but I’m not pushing back on that one.  See, because we earn such a high hourly rate, we get taxed as if we’re going to earn six figures for the year.  Many of us may not given the lag time between one project ending and another beginning.  Many opt to claim themselves as “exempt” from federal income tax and then pay it periodically throughout the year—or all at once before filing taxes in April.  I, in all good conscience, cannot assert that status because the form asks you to certify that you will not owe taxes this year and received a full refund last year.  That is not true for me.  Well, it wasn’t last year.  I guess this year’s taxes may present a different picture.

Even though I have an ax to grind, I’ve not been very frustrated on this blog.  Nor have I really ever expressed anger.  I typically just let it roll off my back like water and that duck. The problem is, I don’t have feathers.  And as that water keeps rolling off my back, it leaves trails and otherwise erodes my self-confidence.  I think expressing rage and frustration is natural.  I rarely do it though. And I won’t bother to take up time doing it here.  But I must say that unlike worrying, expressing anger is helpful.  It does make you feel better.  It’s a natural feeling.  And getting it out is necessary.  Guess that’s what the gym is for, eh?

I claimed my karma back in Cashing In My Karma.  Well, here’s Life’s default notice:  give me a break and make something happen.  Something’s gotta give.   And it ain’t gonna be me.

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

February 21, 2010 at 15:25

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lose. LOSE! Come on LoL, you can remember this.

    Anon

    February 22, 2010 at 09:21

  2. 🙂 Apparently not! Must have a mental block for that word. Typically I made this mistake with the participle form. But not this time.

    Corrected though. Thanks.

    Laid-off Lawyer

    February 22, 2010 at 09:40


Leave a Reply

