Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Stepping Up and Down

with 4 comments

Total Black: $215.15
Total Red: $227,339.29

The craziness of working two jobs has got the best of me.  For now.

I started my work day at the contract attorney job at 7:30am and stayed until 12:30pm.  I then left for the theatre, grabbing a cab to both escape the rain and shave off time.  After ushering Avenue Q this afternoon, I stopped home to grab a quick nap during the two hours between theatre shifts.  I spent much of that time responding to text messages from the office manager for the space used by the temporary attorney staffing agency and answering emails from the associate with the law firm I’m working for.  Trial is a few weeks away and the pressure is mounting; they’re bringing on two paralegals tomorrow to help us push through our work.  Any rest I achieved this afternoon was incidental and accidental.  I’ve felt like I had been back in the law firm again.

The other night at the contract attorney job I turned on “Bringing Down ‘Da House” on my iPhone in the background to listen to as I worked.  Queen Latifah and Steve Martin star in this comedy about an ex-con and a tax lawyer and the unholy alliance they form.  In one scene Martin counsels Latifah that she need only take a paralegal course and she could be earning good money and have a steady job in no time.  She rejects his offer.  She quips that she’s already been to his office and got a wedgie as soon as she walked in.  “I already did the confinement thing,” she retorts.  Good line, I thought.

After my restless nap, I returned to the theatre to work my first shift stepping up and into my new position as head usher for Naked Boys Singing.  Uneventful show—which is a good thing.  If not, it means drunk New Jersey birthday girls or Staten Island bachelorettes or old men and cameras caused major problems.   Yesterday it was Asian women and text messaging—anytime a bluish screen shows up in the darkness of the audience we assume it’s a camera.  Taking photographs in theatres in New York state is illegal; and it’s strictly enforced when the actors are naked.  Once tonight’s show finished, I hopped another cab, this time back to the contract attorney job—from where I type today’s entry while on a break.  I’ll be here until at least 1am.

Tomorrow won’t be very different: in at 7am until 10:45am.  Theatre from 11am to a bit after 12pm.  With a gap of about ninety minutes, I’ll head back to the temp attorney space to check on the new paralegals.  I’ll have to be back at the  theatre for my 2pm shift.  I’ll be there until I finish up around 9pm.  Then back to the contract attorney position to work until 1 or 2 am again.

Phew.  I’m tired just writing it up.  And . . . I decided to put it all on hold.

I emailed management at the theatre the other day and asked to be kept off the schedule for the next two weeks or so—except for the morning hawker positions (they’re early and only an hour or so) if needed and my head usher shifts, of course.  Working both jobs worked a month ago when all we did was review documents.  Now with the intensity increasing and the turn-around time decreasing, I need to scale something back.

It’s clear which that must be.

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

March 13, 2010 at 23:42

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Like most of your fellow “hand to mouth” JD holders, you gotta do what you gotta do…..keeping the K Atty job is a must.

    thelawwon

    March 14, 2010 at 02:15

  2. What’s the downside of declaring bankruptcy? Does it prevent you from getting jobs?

    Anon

    March 14, 2010 at 10:35

  3. I’m not sure how much of LoL’s debts would be wiped from a bankruptcy filing anyway… a majority of it is student loans, money owed to mother, and back taxes (are those forgivable? doesn’t seem like they would be).

    Anyway, even if the taxes are, a great majority is from student loans and family loans, so maybe it isn’t worth the problems, I’m guessing?

    As I’ve posted earlier, even with a debt consolidation and a good $3,000+ directed all at debt it would take over 8 years to knock this debt down if consolidated at 7%, but I suppose that would be better than going 7 months with really no progress on the debt front.

    LoL is putting in the time, no question, but even a fire hose won’t fill a sieve.

    Gotta plug some of those holes…

    T

    T-Bag

    March 14, 2010 at 19:01

  4. He cant practice law if he is bankcrupt, can he?

    Dreamer

    March 30, 2010 at 05:21


Leave a Reply

