Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Fool Me Once

with 3 comments

Total Black: $3.94
Total Red: $229,702.52

Yes, it’s that time of the year again.  April Fool’s Day.  Quite a coincidence that I heard from the Colleague today.  About a week ago I emailed him to check back about getting paid for the work I’d performed for him a few months back.  Last communication we had occurred on Valentine’s Day—and it didn’t go well, as noted in Stupid Cupid.  So today’s email took me by surprise. 

He apologized for not having mailed out a check and said that he would have it mailed out today or tomorrow.  Ah . . . but today is April Fool’s Day.  Curious, no?, that he responded today—exactly a week after reached out to him.  Why today?  I trust he wasn’t trying to pull my leg.  I’d reply with a “thanks” and he’d say “Ha.  Just kidding.  April Fool’s.”  Of course that didn’t happen.  Because I didn’t reply to his email.  I doubt he would have done that, but considering his fairly violent reaction back in February, to have him apologize and wish me well was a bit off-putting.  So . . . yeah, fool me once, eh?

I don’t seriously suspect he was trying to play a prank on me.  But I truly didn’t reply to his email.  And I won’t—at least not until I receive the check.  Or if weeks go by with no check in the mail.  He didn’t indicate how much he’d be sending.  But something is better than nothing at this point.  I might just have to take what I can get and file the rest under “lessons learned.”

Speaking of lessons learned, still no word from either judge.  It’s only been three days since the interview for the closer opportunity.  But the woman acting as a secretary had said the judges wanted to make their decision on the day of the interview.  As more time passes, I’m less and less hopeful.  I must admit to being fairly disillusioned by my experiences interviewing for clerkships.  Unsurprisingly, most people see my resume and assume I’m black.  Howard, where I went after all, is a historically-black university.  Understandable.  But it’s how they act when I arrive.  When I walked into the chambers of a senior judge on the federal bench in Philadelphia, she told me how she had thought they were bringing me in for “diversity reasons.”  I was unprepared for that type of comment that it took me aback and left me momentarily speechless.  I wasn’t witty enough to say, “Well, Judge, I am gay.  That count for anything in your book?”  It still surprises me the things white people will say to other white people; this judge certainly wouldn’t have told her Asian candidate that.  And if I had been black, she sure wouldn’t have told me that when I walked in.  But, because we’re both white, it’s assumed that we’re cool like that, so to speak; as if our shared race put us at the same rank racially and automatically granted us permission to speak freely.  On another clerkship interview, this time with a black judge in federal court in Manhattan, he too seemed a bit surprised when I walked in the door.  And I felt very coolly received by his secretary.  He didn’t introduce me to his current clerks either.  I didn’t get either, the first because the judge took ill and opted not to bring a new clerk on, and the second because I just wasn’t selected.  Even when I interviewed for a clerkship with a New York state court judge, she too immediately opened the door about my experiences at Howard, but in her defense, she at least seemed excited about it and wanted details.  But that too has a slightly sordid feel to it.  Maybe I’m just not meant to clerk, eh?  Or perhaps I need to go back to school for another degree and reset my pedigree clock.  Somehow I don’t think it will matter.  Fool me once, eh?  Looking more like “fool me thrice times three.”

Shame on me.

Total black is down.  But so is total red.  Slow and steady wins the race, huh?

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

April 1, 2010 at 23:02

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is why committing yourself to making daily posts might be a bit too cumbersome…

    Then again, you may end up just making alternating daily posts that were twice as long, so nothing would be gained.

    I am just thinking…I doubt I could even make a daily blog post about what went on here.

    I’m boring. My town is no NYC. Combination of both, probably.

    T-Bag

    April 6, 2010 at 08:56

  2. T-bag – what’s your deal. Are you really a tea-bagger??

    Ladybug

    April 6, 2010 at 22:09

  3. I only drink loose leaf teas, thus T minus the Bag.

    So, I guess the answer is no, but I’m not sure how that is relevant to my original comment. Or isn’t it?

    T-Bag

    T-Bag

    April 6, 2010 at 22:16


Leave a Reply

