Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Synchronicity

with 7 comments

Total Black: $403.65
Total Red: $229,634.11

While walking to the theatre tonight, I started thinking about the synchronicity of life.  How life sometimes randomly syncs itself, so to speak.  For a few weeks now, I’ve had flashes this good-bye party thrown in the Time-Out New York Lounge at New World Stages.  The bar is decorated in a theme matching the farther location I’d be moving to.  Lots of people are there to see me off: from different chapters in my life.  Perhaps it’s time to start planning that party. 

Yes.  I’ve accepted the clerkship offer from the farther judge.  On the walk to work this morning, I emailed the closer clerkship opportunity to inquire about the status there.  I received a two-line response informing me first that the position had been filled (note the singular; supposed to be two positions) and then a well-wish for my future career.  Had I not emailed, I’d still be waiting.  And I have not yet received a letter, email, or telephone call formally informing me that the position has been filled.  And that’s federal judges, eh?

I’m still reluctant to identify either location.  Perhaps I will once I settle in, in the farther locale.

I needed to find out what the status was with the closer opportunity before I could respond to the farther.  It wouldn’t have been professional to accept one offer without alerting the other first.  The email I received from the farther judge’s clerk, offering me the position, also asked when I would be available.  That too made me nervous because, as mentioned back in Decisions, Decisions, I was under the impression I’d have to relocate fairly quickly.  So, in my reply, expressing my gratitude and accepting the position, I dodged the question by asking how long prior clerks tended to need to relocate.  I was reluctant to mention that I had already agreed to six more weeks with the contract attorney position.  And I certainly did not want to explain that I needed those six more weeks to accumulate the funds to finance my relocation.  Probably not a good thing to discuss personal finances with future employers.

I was quite happy with the reply: a June 1st start date.  That gives me roughly seven more weeks to get everything prepared.  I’ll be able to complete my commitment for the contract attorney position as well as earn more money there and at the theatre.  I’ll also be able to experience a bit of summer in the city before leaving.  And I’ll be able to pack up my apartment and either move it into storage or haul it back to my mother’s house in Pennsylvania.

A number of details and specifics certainly require ironing out still.  I’ll have to ask to be let out of my lease.  If that’s not possible, it’ll be a sizable monkey’s wrench.  Then there’s deciding out what to take and what to leave behind.  I’ll need to find an apartment in the new location, which might require flying there beforehand to scope it out.  But overall today something just struck me as odd, and interesting, how life syncs the way it does.  I want a clerkship.  Life sends it to me.  I need time before relocating.  Life arranges that too.  Another oddity is that I obtained this clerkship in part through Facebook.  I mentioned back in A Day in the Life that I had expressed my interest in clerking as a status update; a few former law school colleagues reached out to me.  A few months later and I’ll soon be off on another adventure!

Ah life and its synchronicity!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tease.

    Donnelly

    April 8, 2010 at 01:03

  2. Now I know what LoL’s bill collectors feel like day after day.

    “I’ll pay tomorrow…”

    “No, tomorrow for sure this time…”

    “What? Oh, sorry, tomorrow then!”

    T-Bag

    April 8, 2010 at 12:32

  3. What would your blog be without Donnelly, T-Bag and me? Hope you are having a good time. Gorgeous weather in NYC.

    Ladybug

    April 8, 2010 at 18:00

  4. We’re supposed to get nasty weather (rain and high winds) tonight in Philadelphia and surrounding areas. This taste of summer was too good to be true!

    Donnelly

    April 8, 2010 at 18:45

  5. congratulations on the clerkship!

    I’m looking forward to reading how you plan to coordinate the move (and expect your readers will have lots of ideas as to how to accomplish it as cheaply as possible, so I hope you post the details).

    govtlawyer

    April 12, 2010 at 07:00

  6. Best of luck to you. I feel like I’m sending one of my children out into the great unknown. I hope you will keep us updated as your career progresses and your debt diminishes. Personally, I think you made the right decision. Even if it’s the wrong decision, you’ll never have that self-dounting “what if.” You gotta take risks. Congratulations!

    Donnelly

    April 12, 2010 at 11:05

  7. Congratulations on getting the clerkship! Moving always sucks, but clerkships are always a good opportunity. Hope everything works out, and if it turns out you are going to be in the Midwest, maybe we’ll cross paths.

    Jim in Chicago

    April 12, 2010 at 11:50


Leave a Reply

