Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Sick and Tired

with 4 comments

Total Black: $60.80
Total Red: $234,846.52

I worked at the theatre this morning and again in the afternoon.  Between shifts I had to sprint over to the contract attorney position to get into the temporary attorney staffing agency’s space, grab three sets of photocopies I prepared last night, and walk them over to the law firm where the other temp attorney works.  She doesn’t have a key card to the building where the temp agency is and the law firm hasn’t given me a key to their spaces.  She and a staff attorney sit four floors below the law firm in space rented from a small law firm.  So, in effect, we’re spread over three locations.  Not very efficient.  By the time I got to the temp agency, I was nearly drenched in sweat.  I didn’t notice it until hours later, when I finished at the theatre and had to walk back once again to the temp agency.  See, my hoodie was still damp when I put it on to leave.  Gross. 

I’m sick again.  Unreal.  I didn’t realize how often this happens until one of my co-workers at the theater this afternoon mentioned remembering me being all stuffed up and congested just last month.  I doubted her because the last I remembered being sick was a few months back.  But then I thought about it and recalled missing a few days of work in March because I was sick.  I remembered because I recalled losing out on roughly $700.  And true enough, as I mentioned in Welcome Rest, I was sick just a month ago.  Thought I’d search through my posts and viola: I was ill once more in January, as I posted in Sleep, It Does a Body Good.  It’s as if I get sick once a month.  And I’m sick and tired of it.

New Yorkers live on top of one another.  People are everywhere.  There’s nowhere I’ve found in Manhattan where you can be outdoors and alone for longer than a second.  If only for that reason will I welcome leaving this city.  One of the associates at the law firm was sick last week as was one of the managers at the theatre.  Back when I rode the subway to work I remember signs admonishing people to stay home from work if they were sick.  It’s true.  So many people “suffer” through it, thinking they have to man up or toughen up.  But really they’re just spreading their cold or flu to anyone around them.  And I’m now guilty as well.

But when you work on an hourly wage, there’s not much choice.

I suspect that I’m so susceptible to getting sick because of my sporadic sleep schedule, exercising, and eating habits.  My health is becoming a liability.  So I’m leaving the temp job for the night and going home.  To bed.  Early.  Once again.

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

April 18, 2010 at 22:35

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Losing!

    Anon

    April 19, 2010 at 08:59

  2. Missed that one that time. Must have been tired. Or sick.

    Laid-off Lawyer

    April 19, 2010 at 09:59

  3. You should quit your job and move to Thailand or Colombia under an assumed name. You’re $234,000 in debt and killing yourself, and you have no chance of paying it off.

    james

    April 19, 2010 at 19:32

  4. Stress is number one in causing illness. If you can’t get rid of it make sure you drink LOTS of water, wash your hands, keep Purell around you and try to mimimize food you eat from outside – there are a lot of rats and roaches that run on deli food at night. A while back I was stressing out massively like you because rent was due and I did not have a job – I was running around like an energizer bunny and constantly getting sick. Then I started drinking tons of water, amped up vitamins, hot tea, protein [eggs, cheese] and put my ass to bed at 10 p.m. no matter what. It really helped.

    Ladybug

    April 19, 2010 at 20:40


Leave a Reply

