Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Tenth Day of Accounting

leave a comment »

Total Black: $2,940.82

Here’s the Breakdown:

Primary Checking: $2,937.02
Secondary Checking: $0.00
Savings: $3.09
PayPal Account (Personal): $0.71
PayPal Account (Blog): $0.00
Amazon Payments Account: $0.005
Mutual Funds Account: $0.00

FICO Score [pending]

Total Red: $234,907.81

Here’s the breakdown:

Credit Card Debt:

MasterCard: $5,000.00
Visa: $7,837.42
Visa: $4,794.08
American Express: $2,435.26
Raymour & Flanagan Credit Line: $6,340.68
Saks Fifth Avenue Credit Card: $370.18

Student Loan Debt:

Federal Stafford Loans: $94,504.20
Private Student Loans: $31,813.92

Back Taxes:

IRS (2007): $1,438.11
IRS (2008): $28,275.80
IRS (2009): $2,840.00

NY State (2008): $0.00
NY State (2009): $2,785.00

Other Loans:

My mother: $46,473.16

Umm . . . yeah . . . so . . . total red is clearly going the wrong way.  And I don’t foresee an opportunity anytime soon to stop it.  But that’s ok because sometimes you need to let something bleed out first. 

I’ve mentioned in a few prior posts that I’ve pretty much stopped for now the outflow of income because I need to pool as much as possible to pay for the new location.  That’s been working well enough so far.  I don’t think total black has ever climbed past three thousand dollars.  It is frustrating though to see my debts laid out as above and realize that I can slash one entire debt, like the American Express credit card for example, with the amount on hand just by a few clicks of the mouse.  A slash-and-burn approach?  No, I guess that would be more akin to eliminating the debt and closing the card.  But I digress.  For now I must be content to let total red rise on its own.  Ballooning up like dough.  Soon enough I’ll punch it back down.

In other news, I arrived safely in the new location.  It took much longer than I expected to find a hotel.  I didn’t book a reservation in advance.  Thought I’d find a few signs pointing me towards a place of rest and then just drive up and check in.  Not so easy.  But thanks to the iPhone, I was able to search for “hotel” and then map the route to the nearest one.  And what a great spot it was.  I haven’t left since checking in.

I know that I tossed around the idea that I’d reveal today where I’m moving to.  But I think I’ll hold off at least until after I return.  In all honesty, I’m apprehensive that some loony tune out there might take it upon himself—or herself—to figure out which court I’ll be working at, and then which judge, and alert the judge to this blog, perhaps out of some sanctimonious sense of duty to the profession or something.  And given the schizophrenic conversation one commenter, Minnesota Man, had with himself back in Vindication!, who knows what the possibilities are.

I’m sure I’m just being paranoid.  And I certainly won’t keep everyone in the dark until June 2011 when the clerkship ends.  But I’m being cautious for now.

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

May 10, 2010 at 23:12

Leave a Reply

