Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Greener Pastures

with 3 comments

Total Black: $2,689.14
Total Red: $235,111.49

Although I only visited the new location for all of thirty-six hours, I think it has already started sinking into my system.  The sense of serenity and calmness I had two nights ago, sitting on the beach, starting out at the ocean.  It keeps returning to my mind.  Understandably, as the porch where I stayed at opened right out on to this amazing view:

No stunning work of photography there, but it communicates plenty.  I sat myself down on one of those lawn chair and just stared out at the water.  Watched the light fade.

I typically avoid the beach and anything to do with it.  Oppressive sun; scalding heat.  Sun and I aren’t necessarily bosom buddies.  I burn.  And as an adult badly.  Not like childhood sunburns at the Jersey shore.  So it’s not been an enjoyable experience the past ten years or so anytime I’ve gone to the beach.  Feeling yourself slowly crisping in the sun.  Not fun.  But then I took a vacation over New Year’s in 2006 to Little Palm Island in the Florida Keys and I fell in love with the ocean and the beach at night.  Lying in a hammock, staring at the stars.  I had a feeling back then that I’d like to live on an island.  Probably why I was willing to move to St. Croix.  Although the apartment I selected isn’t on the beach, I’ll still have island breezes to lull me to sleep each night.  The temperature in St. Croix pretty much consistently hovers around 85 degrees Fahrenheit.  Truly a form of paradise.  Sometimes the earth amazes me.

And sometimes it amazes me in other ways.  I landed in New York to a temperature of 46 degrees.  In May!  Quite a change from 86 to 46.  I wasn’t wearing a coat for sure.  Hadn’t thought it could get that cold.  So yeah . . . I might be ready to leave for those greener pastures now.

No updates on getting my New York apartment off my hands.  But I’m not giving up.  I won’t just hand over two thousand dollars to the landlord without some effort at finding a replacement tenant.  And speaking of finances and funds—no update either on moving my income or my debt.  Both are in limbo as I await approval of my lease application.

But I’m not worried.  Greener pastures await me on the other side of the balance sheet as well.

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

May 13, 2010 at 23:11

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looking at that photo, perhaps this is a much needed mental break that you need. Ok, so you’ll be working but, at the end of a hectic day, you will have a type of stress relief like you didn’t have in NY. No honking horns, no tuba-playing neighbors, etc. Enjoy this!

    Donnelly

    May 28, 2010 at 12:45

  2. No honking horns?!

    Oh, you mean near where he’s staying I guess.

    Driving in the USVI will provide enough stress in one year to last a lifetime! There’s a reason every car down there looks like it is on its way back from a demolition derby.

    T

    T-Bag

    May 28, 2010 at 15:26

  3. I hope there are no honking horns on the beach. I live in the city too and I’d definitely love to live a year in an island paradise. Hell, I’d settle for a month.

    Donnelly

    May 28, 2010 at 23:01


Leave a Reply

