Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Over and Over and Over Again

with 5 comments

Total Black: $789.33
Total Red: $236,651.39

And I thought I had seen long days.  Today surpassed them all.  I clocked nineteen hours today, not counting approximately three hours deducted for meals and such.  I just keep doing the same project over and over and over again. 

It’s the witness prep from Hell!  The attorney just keeps redoing the script, necessitating reprinting and reorganizing all the accompanying exhibits.  It’s the same materials I prepped in Runnin’ Me Ragged and then again in Two Weeks Left.  Third time is not the charm here it seems.  Plus, the United States Attorney’s Office keeps “finding” new materials and turning them over.  I don’t understand how that’s permitted.  Discovery and any available materials should have been produced months ago.  But yet the magical, mystical, Southern District gets its way.  And I’m stuck working nearly twenty-four hours to play catch up on binder prepping.

I got in today at 10:30am.  I left at 8:15am.  Today is the only time I’m piercing my blogger veil, so to speak, and commenting about something that occurred outside the twenty-four time-frame for this day.  Only because “today” didn’t technically end for me until 8am on the next. 

What took the cake though today though was this: after working all night to prepare the cross-examination materials for this same witness, I took the materials over to the firm to drop them off and go home.  That was around 5am.  But as I walked into the building, who do I run into at the elevator but the partner working on the case!  Talk about awkward.  He asked if I was in early as he was.  “Uhh . . . errr . . . no,” I said.  “I haven’t left yet.”  I don’t think he quite understood what I meant though.  Too funny.  He’s a nice man—one who “retired” from a larger firm to join a smaller.  But the only problem is that when he spots you, he will grab you from any other task and have you help him. 

Instead of leaving around 5am, I didn’t get to leave until after 8am when the others had started arriving and I was able to leave.  At 6am I’m running around the firm looking for various documents he wanted to see before heading to court that morning to cross-examine a witness.  Wow.  And on top of it all, the Treasurer position for the non-profit board I was elected to back in A Whole New World started heating up today and will soon demand much of my time.  Raining?  Pouring?  Naw . . . more like a torrential downpour. 

Thankfully I didn’t also have to work my “third” job today at the theatre.  Actually, that might have made today’s “war story” a bit more colorful. 

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

May 18, 2010 at 23:10

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Can’t you just do a big overview?? Thinking I will stop checking soon…

    Anonymous

    May 19, 2010 at 03:42

  2. Honestly. I just don’t have time. It’s 4:00 am and I’m still at the contract attorney position.

    Laid-off Lawyer

    May 19, 2010 at 04:01

  3. We understand…but then you should stop saying things like you’ll do it tomorrow, or you’ll do it soon, etc.

    Just put up a big post on top that says–return June 1, 2010 for Chapter II and go from there.

    T

    T-Bag

    May 19, 2010 at 08:53

  4. Pretty soon you’ll have to start another blog where you try to catch up on all your posts in a single year. Something tells me we’ll be disappointed

    Boyard

    May 19, 2010 at 15:50

  5. Pretty soon you will have to rename your blog How to Lose All of Your Blog Readers Within Two Weeks.com. On the other hand, the blog doesn’t put food on the table, pay the rent, or pay student loans, so screw it.

    Chris

    May 19, 2010 at 16:45


Leave a Reply

