Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

From Times Square to Time Square

with 2 comments

Total Black: $1,828.30
Total Red: $242,253.50

So, it’s starting to settle in that I’ve gone from this. 

To this.  From one island to another but worlds apart.  And just like back in New York, I go through Time Square each day on my way to work.

Since we’re so close to the equator, the sun sets here around 7:00pm each night.  And it rises around 6am.  Yesterday and today I really didn’t need an alarm clock to wake in the morning because sunlight blasting through the windows and open door sufficed.  Yes, I sleep with the door and windows open.  Air conditioning is not included with the “utilities” under the lease because it consumes so much electricity and electric bills here can climb excessively high: into the multiple hundreds a month.  When we were all sitting by the pool yesterday after my arrival, I asked the landlady what the biggest adjustment was in moving here.  Lady responded: “Getting used to pretty much living outdoors all the time.”  That’s been the most accurate observation yet.

The courthouse is indoors, of course.  But all the walkways between offices, courtrooms, bathrooms, etc.—it’s all outdoors.  When I leave my office to visit chambers, I walk outside.  Have to stop by HR?  It’s out into the elements.  Everything’s covered, however. Even the sidewalks: that arched, covered walkway typical of warm locations.

All this outdoorness invites plenty of creatures and critters.  I’ve already seen crabs scuttling across the road on my drive home.  Storks stand on the courthouse lawn.  And mother hen followed by her little peeps got in my way as I tried to walk into a coffee shop this morning.  Gives new meaning to that old puzzle, asking why the chicken crossed the road.  And geckos galore.  Or geico guys—as my mother called them.  Island living, eh?

Work is going well: only my second day so most of it is a bit overwhelming.  I’m sure I’ll have more to comment on that topic in the coming days.  I get along well with everyone, and that was the biggest concern.  If you love your job won’t matter much if you hate your colleagues.

Total black is down.  I sent quite a few payments to my credit cards, both to catch up on missed payments and to clear space should I need to use them.  My mother put her credit card down for the Jeep I rented.  With her name down, she’s able to add me as a driver and then we can rely on her car insurance back home.  A cheaper route than if I rented solo.

Soon, however, I have to get a car.

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

June 2, 2010 at 22:31

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ahhh, I miss it down there. It isn’t so bad when I’m not reminded, so maybe I need to stop reading this blog!

    T

    T-Bag

    June 16, 2010 at 08:47

  2. It sounds idyllic, and your getting paid to live down there not bad eh?

    Dreamer

    June 16, 2010 at 09:46


Leave a Reply

