Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Relaxing Sunday

with 3 comments

Total Black: $904.72
Total Red: $241,059.05

I vacillated this morning for about two hours, going back and forth between going to work to put a few hours in and just staying home and relaxing.  Even though I went in to the court yesterday, after the day I mentioned in Limits and Liens and Loans, I couldn’t get anything done.  My mind wasn’t on my work.  So today, I just said screw it and relaxed today.

Instead of worrying all day, which won’t get anything accomplished anyway, I watched some television, read a book, and updated my blog posts.  And, just around sundown, I hopped in the pool and shot a few pictures from my iPhone of the sun sinking into the Caribbean Sea.

It’s good to rest every now and then.

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

June 13, 2010 at 23:36

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve more than once considered moving, at least for a time, down to the USVI. Now that you’re going to live there for at least a year, I’d be much appreciative if you’d keep some fairly detailed documentation on how much it costs you to live there each month.

    Depends on what’s going on with my wife’s job at the time, but I figure when I get out of law school (I deferred the start for a year, so that won’t be until 2014) if things aren’t improved in the marketplace I won’t be able to find a job anyway, so it might be a nice time to take a winter, or 6 months, or even a year, and rent down there.

    If you’re able to get by within some reasonable amount per month (if your rent is under a thousand, shouldn’t be too crazy) if we save up for the next four years we should be able to give it a go, but I’ve never known anyone who actually lived there to get some hard numbers.

    So…think you could keep track of the basics (i.e. rent, utilities, food) and give me an idea?

    Thanks,

    T

    T-Bag

    June 16, 2010 at 22:47

  2. Well, some of those numbers I’ve already posted. Utilities are included with rent; rent is $900 a month for an efficiency. Finding utilities included seems to come only with the mother-in-law apartment. Not sure how viable that is for a married couple though. But otherwise I’m sure I’ll end up posting cost information as I go.

    Laid-off Lawyer

    June 16, 2010 at 23:01

  3. Great, thanks.

    –Yes, I saw the numbers you’ve posted so far, and have noted them, but I figure the “true living expense” will be such that it will only be known after you’ve been there for several months.

    Take care,

    T

    T-Bag

    June 17, 2010 at 07:16


Leave a Reply

