Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Black and White and Red All Over

with 4 comments

Total Black: $1,070.69
Total Red: $
230,607.08

Total black is up because pay came through.  A portion has already been allocated to bills, however, so the numbers aren’t exactly accurate.  Total red is actually lower than what is shown.  It’s probably back down to $229K.  Of course, I say “back down” but really it’s back up.

I decided to include the loan from my mother in my calculations of total amount owed.  Why not?  I add it in, in my head, each time I look at the numbers.  Now this way, I save a step.  Commenters have taken me to task repeatedly for not doing it.  Not sure why exactly.  It’s not as if I were ignoring or trying to forget it.  But this will silence that gripe.  And five hundred of total black is already waiting to be claimed by my mother, meaning total red is really at $230,107.08.

I also sent about $450 to credit cards today, so that brings total red down under $229K.  Interesting, isn’t it, how a transfer from a checking account to a credit cards, for example, and both within the same bank, will immediately deplete your available cash but doesn’t immediately lower your debt by the corresponding amount.  Instead the bank shows it as “pending.”  Really?  Why?  Does someone have to actually push a button and approve the transfer or just allocate it from one internal account to the other?  Why is the U.S. banking system so stone age when it comes to bank transfers and wires?  Living in Europe I saw all sorts of bank transfer processes.  People routinely wired money from their bank accounts to their bills.  Yet here it takes days for something to post.  So silly.  But I digress.

I also opted to follow a commenter’s suggestion that I use PayPal money and mutual funds income to pay down the Saks card.  I had said all along that I would not use donations in my blog PayPal account until I had received enough to pay off a debt.  Well, I’ve only received three donations total: two from the same person.  (Thank you to both donors!)  I thought it over and that money isn’t accomplishing anything just sitting there; it’s not even earning interest.  So once money from PayPal and the mutual funds clear and gets deposited into my account, I’ll be sending it right back out and over to Saks.  With a payment that I made last week, and another I sent in today, only $150.00 remains on that card.  So, in effect, the blog donation money, coupled with the mutual funds income, did eliminate one debt.

That’s about it for today.  Oh, emailed the Colleague about the money owed me for the work I did for him.  Still no reply to that email.  Looks like small claims court may be looming.

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

March 25, 2010 at 22:01

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Any news on the clerk positions? I assume it’s a long and painful process.

    Donnelly

    March 25, 2010 at 23:05

  2. Not yet. The interview for the closer opportunity isn’t until Monday. I had the interview for the farther opportunity but the judge said it would be a week or two. Only been a week.

    Laid-off Lawyer

    March 26, 2010 at 06:48

  3. Thanks for including the 4k loan in your red. I think it makes accounting sense.

    Anon

    March 26, 2010 at 09:13

  4. So whatever happened to the medical experiment? Where you on a placebo or the real deal? And what ever happened to your pro bono case. Maybe I missed your updates.

    Air

    March 26, 2010 at 21:57


Leave a Reply

