Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Chemical Sheets and Eleven Agencies

leave a comment »

Total Black: $63.15
Total Red: $230,807.75

Not much to say today.  I spent much of the weekend cleaning my apartment.  Sort of the Fall version of spring cleaning.  Since the exterminators came by yesterday, I slept in insecticide last night because they sprayed down my mattress and sheets.  It didn’t make sense washing the sheets right afterward since residue of the chemicals remain to kill bedbugs.  Had I washed the immediately afterward their visit would have been a waste of time.  I washed them today though.  I just couldn’t stomach another night in chemical sheets.  It didn’t hurt or cause any problems, but just the thought of sleeping on dried chemicals made me uneasy.  So instead after washing the sheets and throwing the pillows and comforter in the dryer, I spread diatomaceous earth along the baseboards, around the bed posts, and then on top of the box spring.  If any bedbugs remain, they’ll have to crawl onto the bed from one of those entry points.  And when they do, the diatomaceous earth will stick to their waxy exoskeletons and kill ’em.  Dead.  Diatomaceous earth dehydrates insects.  It’s basically dried algae so it’s a natural pest control.  It’s just annoying to have to spread this flour-like substance all around.  I’m only hoping the cats don’t decide to play in it. 

Tomorrow is the initial appearance in court in Landlord v. Laid-Off Lawyer.  I have to be there at 9:30 a.m. for the first calendar call.  It promises to be an eventful day.   A temp agency reached out to me over the weekend to ask if I could start a job tomorrow.  I said yes, but noted that I had to be in court.  I haven’t heard back from the temp agency, who also hadn’t heard back from the law firm whether they needed me at 9 a.m. or at noon or if I should just wait until Tuesday.  On Tuesday I have an appointment to register with yet another temp agency.  And if I do get that temp job, I’ll also need to find time this week to register with a third temporary attorney staffing agency.  That would make eleven agencies that I’ve registered with.  I’ve gotta get a bite somewhere.

Keep your fingers crossed for the jobs and the lawsuit.  I’m off to sleep in clean, fresh sheets.

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

November 8, 2009 at 22:43

Leave a Reply

