Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Archive for December 5th, 2009

Better By Change

leave a comment »

Total Black: $2,073.79
Total Red: $230,820.71

I met a friend today for lunch.  We had Chinese.  It was quick and cheap.  Nothing amazing.  But not bad either.  Just one of those nice moments you enjoy. We lingered a bit after finishing.  The waiter brought our bill.  And, of course, on the mini tray with our check were placed two fortune cookies.  I took the one closest to me and gave the other to my friend.  I had heard somewhere that the fortune won’t come true unless you eat the entire cookie first before reading it.  Naturally, I can’t confirm or deny the veracity of such a claim.  But why tempt the fates, eh?  So, I ate up my cookie and then looked at the fortune.  In Make the Man, Make the Money I observed that fortune cookies today rarely seem to have a fortune.  Instead they’re filled with wise sayings or prescient observations.  That held true for this fortune cookie as well.  It said, “Your life does not get better by chance, it gets better by change.” Keep reading . . .

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

December 5, 2009 at 23:31