Confessions of a Laid-off Lawyer

Just Your Average Joe Blogging Away His Debt—In One Year or Less

Archive for December 26th, 2009

Jollification

with one comment

Total Black: $948.31
Total Red: $230,715.35

Today I had my first experience working for tips.  No, not atop a bar somewhere in Chelsea.  I worked coat check today at the theatre.  Given that it was the day after Christmas, and that I worked it from roughly 6pm until 11pm, I made about fifty dollars.  Not bad for a first time, I figured.  Here’s the catch though.  I ended up spending it all going out later that night.  So my question: what can tip money count as?  We don’t earn a reduced wage for shifts that may include tips.  So, I can just cut myself a break and dismiss it as just money I didn’t have four hours earlier and thus pretend that I worked some other shift where I wouldn’t have earned tips.  Or I can kick myself for having blown that money on booze. Keep reading . . .

Written by Laid-off Lawyer

December 26, 2009 at 23:11